MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday, December 13, 2021 in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Natalie Bertsch, President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Vance Caffee, Amy Howard, Jonathan Hurd, Connie Schroeder, and Tara Yost. Absent was Rob Mullaney. Also in attendance were Dr. Charlene Crosswait, Superintendent, Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, Drake Bachmeier, Elementary Principal, Kimberly Cypher, SPED Director, Sara Gates, Business Manager, Virgil Whetsel, Jennette Nye, Hannah Caffee, David Sivertsen, Joe Beranek, Katie Scheuer, and Erica Hargens.

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to approve the board agenda as amended. All voting aye.

Tom McGough was awarded Area 1 Class B Coach of the Year from South Dakota Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association. Tom McGough was also awarded USTFCCCA for South Dakota Cross Country Coach of the Year. Hillary Smith was awarded Area 1 Class B Assistant Coach of the Year from South Dakota Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association. Linda DeBoer was inducted into the SDVBCA Hall of Fame.

Motion by Hurd, second by Schroeder to approve the Consent Agenda Items.

- 1. Minutes of the November 8, 2021 Board Meeting
- 2. Minutes of the November 18, 2021 Special Board Meeting Minutes
- 3. Payment of Presented Bills
- 4. Financial Report
- 5. Surplus Items-14 desks with smaller tops, 3 broken chairs, 1 broken stool, 2 wrestling scales, 3 big TV carts, and 2 fit ball chairs,

All voting aye.

Rob Mullaney arrived at 6:34 p.m.

Discussion on insurance liability for non-sanctioned groups using the school facilities.

Discussion on NFHS and LiveTicket camera systems.

Discussion on Intent to Participate in SDHSAA Softball.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Hurd to approve the request from the Miller/Wessington Knights of Columbus to use the commons and kitchen area and to waive fees for the annual potato supper which raises money for scholarships. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Caffe to approve the Back-to-School Safe Return Plan and ARP Plan. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Howard to set the date for the 2022 school board election to be on April 12, 2022. All voting aye.

Discussion on COVID.

Motion by Yost, second by Mullaney to approve the request from the St. Lawrence Cares to use the commons and kitchen area and to waive fees for the fundraiser meal which raises money for the playground project in St. Lawrence. All voting aye.

Drake Bachmeier, Elementary Principal, reported on Elementary Student Council, Benchmark Testing, and the Winter Concert performance.

Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, reported on FCCLA activities, One Act Play and he recognized the Music Department on their Winter Concerts. He also thanked the Miller Community for their support in attending events and contributing to all the various fundraisers.

Kimberly Cypher, SPED Director, reported special education numbers.

Dr. Charlene Crosswait, Superintendent, reported on roof repairs and moving semester tests to December 20 and 21, 2021. There will be no school on December 22, 2021.

Motion by Howard, second by Mullaney to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of personnel SDCL 1-25-2 (1) at 7:57 p.m. All voting aye.

President Bertsch declared return to regular session at 8:28 p.m.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to move Karren Rogers to sixth grade to replace Hillary Smith who is being deployed. All voting aye.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Hurd to approve the certified contract for Jillian Grabinski as Title Teacher in the amount of \$22,699.00 for the 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Caffee to approve the non-certified work agreement for Tawhn Zubke as Special Education Para in the amount of \$15.00 per hour for the 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Hurd to approve the resignation of Shirley Hofer as Lunch Monitor effective December 23, 2021. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Caffee to approve the resignation of Harriet Chipman with commendation as District Office Secretary effective January 15, 2022. All voting aye.

Regular M	eeti	ng
December	13,	2021
Page 3		

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 10, 2022 at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary school library.

Motion by Yost, second by Mullaney to adjourn at 8:31 p.m. All voting aye.

Natalie Bertsch, President Board of Education

Sara Gates
Business Manager